Megan Shepherd Book Launch

Join us at 6pm on Tuesday, October 4th for the launch of Megan Shepherd's new adult fiction novel, MALICE HOUSE.

New York Times bestselling author Megan Shepherd weaves a complex tale of dark magic and family secrets when a woman attempts to settle the estate of her father, an acclaimed horror novelist. Perfect for fans of Lovecraft Country, Leigh Bardugo's Ninth House, and The Babadook.

One step away from our world lies another: a land of violent fantasies, of sharp-toothed delights…

Of all the things aspiring artist Haven Marbury expected to find while clearing out her late father’s remote seaside house, Bedtime Stories for Monsters was not it. This secret handwritten manuscript is disturbingly different from his Pulitzer-winning other works: its interweaving short stories crawl with horrific monsters and enigmatic humans that exist somewhere between this world and the next. The stories unsettle but also entice Haven, practically compelling her to illustrate them while she stays in a house that her father warned her was haunted—clearly, just dementia whispering in his ear.

Reeling from a failed marriage, Haven hopes an illustrated Bedtime Stories can be the lucrative posthumous father-daughter collaboration she desperately needs to jumpstart her art career. However, everyone in the distant vacation town wants a piece of the manuscript: her father’s obsessive literary salon members, the Ink Drinkers; her mysterious yet charming neighbor, who has a tendency toward three AM bonfires; a young barista with a literary forgery business; and of course, whoever keeps trying to break into her house. But when a monstrous creature appears under Haven’s bed right as grisly deaths are reported in the nearby woods, it’s clear she is about to uncover dark, otherworldly family secrets—and completely rewrite everything she ever knew about herself.
 

Event date: 
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
36 W Main St
Brevard, NC 28712